Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Coffee Anyone?

4 posters

Go down

Coffee Anyone? Empty Coffee Anyone?

Post  RKatzin Wed Apr 27, 2011 6:11 am

Hi gang, I have several coffee trees that I'm growing from seed, hoping to develop them into small bushes for an indoor grove. I'm in my third year with them and I can't get them to break branches. I mean to shoot out lateral branching. I've pinched off the growing tip a few times thinking it would divide like most trees when you nip the leader. Not so! They just keep growing new leaves and continuing upward on a single stem. I'm thinking of cutting back into the older wood to see if they would break branches from there, but wanted to see if anyone has any experience with coffee trees before I did. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
RKatzin
RKatzin

Back to top Go down

Post  Guest Wed Apr 27, 2011 6:35 am

I know absolutely nothing about Coffe bushes but your idea to cut back into hard wood sounds like a good plan to me. Most trees that I work with will only bud back if this is performed. Cutting into soft growth seems to stop apical growth but new shoots always appear close to the cut.

Back to top Go down

Coffee Anyone? Empty Re: Coffee Anyone?

Post  RKatzin Wed Apr 27, 2011 2:44 pm

Thanks Will, other than that's where coffee comes from, I don't know much about the tree either. I know it's a bush and I've seen some as houseplants. They all have the same look, a tall skinny trunk with a bush of leaf on top. I'm shooting in the dark here, but is it possible they need to mature before they branch out? I know you said you know nothing about them (Fiona is gonna have a field day with that), I'm just supposing. I think I'll nip one into hardwood and see what happens.
RKatzin
RKatzin

Back to top Go down

Post  bonsaisr Wed Apr 27, 2011 3:21 pm

If you Google on Coffee as Houseplant, you will find a lot of instructions.
Iris